Press Room

Romania hosted the meeting of the Trio of Presidents of the Council of the European Union Romania - Finland – Croatia

Press release

Victoria Palace hosted the second meeting of the Trio of Presidents of the Council of the European Union Romania - Finland - Croatia, on Monday, 22 January 2018, marking the official start of the sectoral dialogue between the three Member States with a view to developing the joint program for work. The meeting continued the steps started in Brussels, on the occasion of the ministerial meeting that took place on 25 September 2017 at the initiative of the Minister Delegate for European Affairs, Victor Negrescu.

The partners were represented by Kare Yrjö Halonen, State Secretary for European Affairs at the Cabinet of the Prime Minister of Finland, and Andreja Metelko-Zgombić, State Secretary for European Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of Croatia, in the presence of Gábor Ivan, Director of the General Policy Department of the General Secretariat of the Council.

The three delegations agreed the working methodology for finalizing the Trio calendar, while debating the themes that could be included in the joint program. At the same time, the need to re-launch the European project and the desire to make a substantial contribution to the European debate on this issue was reaffirmed.

The Minister Delegate for European Affairs stressed the importance of a permanent dialogue with the two Member States and partners in order to assume successful Presidencies, mentioning in the context a series of topics of European interest that will influence the agenda of priorities such as finalizing the negotiation process on the exit of the Great Britain from the European Union, and the negotiations on the Multiannual Financial Framework post-2020 or the forthcoming European elections of 2019.

"Romania's priority is to show professionalism in the exercise of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union, but also to take advantage of this moment to improve its image and strengthen its position at the European level. We are in continuous dialogue with Finland and Croatia on the agenda of the future Trio and we will focus on ensuring the implementation of inclusive and sustainable solutions that all Member States will benefit of," said Victor Negrescu.

In their turn, Kare Yrjö Halonen and Andreja Metelko-Zgombić have positively appreciated Romania for its advanced status with preparations for assuming the mandate, starting with 1 January 2019.

"We want to assure all citizens that the Romanian state is ready to manage the Presidency of the Council of the European Union through a coherent, predictable and proactive approach. The presence of the Interim Prime Minister, Mihai-Viorel Fifor at the Trio meeting was the clear example that the importance of this moment is well understood by all institutional and political actors, and the European Affairs expertise of the appointed Prime Minister Viorica Dăncilă will help strengthen the national effort in to prepare and carry out this mandate," said Minister Delegate for European Affairs, Victor Negrescu.


Additional information:

Romania will assume the Presidency of the Council of the European Union between 1 January and 30 June 2019. This mandate shall be performed through rotation between the Member States of the European Union every six months. During the exercise of the Presidency, Romania will represent the Council of the European Union in the dialogue with the other European institutions, in particular the European Commission and the European Parliament, also working in close coordination with the President of the European Council in the decision-making process.

The rotating Presidency ensures the day-to-day management of the European agenda and the presidency of the Council sectoral formations at all levels (ministerial, ambassadorial and technical), with the exception of the Foreign Affairs Council. The presidency should act as an impartial mediator, focusing mainly on the presentation of compromise proposals, capable of leading to the adoption of common positions of the Member States.

The Member States holding the Presidency of the Council of the European Union work in groups of three, called "Trios". This system was introduced by the Treaty of Lisbon in 2009. The Trio sets long-term goals and prepares a common agenda, determining the topics and major issues to be addressed by the Council over an 18-month period.

Based on this program, each of the three countries is preparing its own program, more detailed, for the six months of the mandate. The Trio of Presidents Romania - Finland - Croatia presents, compared to other “Trios” the specificity of expanding over two cycles of legislation and will work together to establish the long-term objectives and to prepare a common agenda for the period of 1 January 2019 - 30 June 2020.