Regional Cooperation

South Caucasus

Romania promotes an articulated policy towards the South Caucasus region, aimed at: supporting European and Euro-Atlantic aspirations of the countries in the region, implementing projects for the diversification of energy transit routes and sources towards the EU and encouraging democratic developments, strengthening of dialogue and regional cooperation. 

The South Caucasus countries have an institutionalized relation with the EU which is being currently upgraded. Individualized negotiations between the EU and the three states (Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia) for the Association Agreements are ongoing.